Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Wine regions in Piedmont 86 growing regions

Description to Piedmont

The region of Piedmont (ital. Piemonte) with the capital Turin is located in the extreme northwest of Italy. With a land area of over 25,000 km², it is the second largest after Sicily. The beginnings of viticulture go back to the Celtic people of the Taurines (who gave the capital its name) and to the Ligurians. The Romans already knew Piedmontese wines (from Gattinara, among others), but the universal scholar and wine author Pliny the Elder (23-79) does not mention a single one in his list of the best wines of antiquity. It was not until the Middle Ages that the wines produced mainly by monasteries became known from here, when minstrels praised their excellent quality. The western part became the Mark of Turin in the 11th century and this came under Savoy's rule by marriage. Piedmont, and with it the viticulture, was under French influence for many centuries. In the middle of the 13th century the name "Piedmont" was used for the first time, which is derived from the French Pié de monte (at the foot of the mountains). The Piedmontese vineyards are mostly located at the foot of the Alps and Apennines on both sides of the wide upper Po valley. It was not until 1815 that Piedmont was annexed to the Kingdom of Sardinia and finally joined the United Kingdom of Italy in 1861.

Stadt Asti - Provinz Asti - Piemont

The vineyards cover 47,500 hectares. A large part is situated in hilly areas on sunny slopes. The main wine-growing areas or municipal areas are Asti, Carema, Canavese, Caluso, the Vercelli and Novara mountains and the hills of Monferrato and Langhe near Alba, considered to be of the best quality. There are well over a hundred authorised grape varieties (in the 19th century there were almost 400), many of which are autochthonous. The main white wine varieties are Arneis, Chardonnay, Erbaluce, Cortese, Favorita(Vermentino), Moscato or Moscato Bianco(Muscat Blanc), Pinot Bianco(Pinot Blanc), Pinot Grigio(Pinot Gris) and Sauvignon(Sauvignon Blanc).

The main Piedmontese red wine varieties are Albarossa, Avanà, Avarengo, Barbera with about 50% of the total area, Bécuet(Persan), Bonarda Piemontese, Brachetto(Brachetto del Piemonte), Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Chatus (Neret Pinerolese), Croatina, Doux d'Henry, Erbaluce, Freisa, Grignolino, Grisa Nera, Malvasia di Casorzo, Malvasia di Schierano, Merlot, Nebbiolo (Chiavennasca, Spanna), Neretta Cuneese, Neretto(Neretto di Bairo), Pelaverga (Cari), Pelaverga Piccolo, Pinot Nero(Pinot Noir), Ruchè, Syrah, Quagliano, Uva Rara (Bonarda Novarese) and Vespolina

Apart from the region of Tuscany, Piedmont produces the most top wines in Italy, and with this region, it knights for the first place as a top wine region. Over three-quarters of the production is red wines. Above all, the DOCG red wines Barbaresco and Barolo from the Nebbiolo grape, pressed by certain producers, are the basis of the fame. There was still French influence in these as well, because the "father" of these two wines was the French oenologist Louis Oudart. In modern times, the three famous winemakers Angelo Gaja, Bruno Giacosa and Giacomo Bologna did important development work on his Braida estate. Piedmont plays a leading role in many respects. It is here that the largest volume of sparkling wine is produced. The region is also the wormwood of Italy and the world, it is here that this wine was "invented". And Piedmont also has the most quality wine areas with 42 DOC and 16 DOCG zones (there are no IGT zones):

In this section you will find
currently 141,075 Wines and 22,911 Producers, including 2,211 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples