You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Wine regions in Veneto 75 growing regions

Description to Veneto

The region (Ital. Veneto) is located in the north-east of Italy and is divided into the provinces of Belluno, Padua, Rovigo, Treviso, Venice (metropolitan city), Verona and Vicenza. It borders the four regions of Friuli Venezia Giulia to the east, Trentino-Alto Adige and Lombardy to the west, and Emilia-Romagna to the south. The northern tip borders on Austria. The landscape or climate is also shaped by the 150-kilometre-long Adriatic coast. The lush vineyards were already cultivated by the Etruscans. Later the Romans came and appreciated the ancient wine Raeticum mentioned by Pliny the Elder (23-79), supposedly a precursor of today's Recioto wines. In the 15th century, the galleys of the Republic of Venice ("Serenissima" = the "Illustrious") dominated the Mediterranean. At that time, viticulture experienced a heyday.

Venetien - Weinberge in Provinz Treviso

The vineyards cover 94,600 hectares of vineyards on stony, calcareous soils covered with reddish-brown earth. Veneto is thus the third largest Italian wine-growing region. They are located in the plains on the Adriatic coast, on the Po and in the mountains around Lake Garda. The foothills of the Alps in the north protect against harsh weather. In the hilly hinterland with a cooler climate, mainly white wines are produced and on the warmer coast mainly red wines. The best-known Veneto wines are the two reds Bardolino and Valpolicella from the Garda area, and the sparkling versions of Prosecco. DOC/DOCG wines account for around 60% of production. Around two thirds come from the area around the city of Verona, which is considered the wine centre of Italy. The Vinitaly wine fair is held here every year.

In the regulations of the numerous DOC and DOCG areas or wines, a great many autochthonous varieties are permitted. The most important red wine varieties are Barbera, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Carmenère, Cavrara, Corbina, Corvina/Cruina (Corvina Veronese), Corvinone, Enantio, Groppello di Mocasina or Groppello di Santo Stefano, Groppello Gentile, Incrocio Manzoni 2.15, Manzoni Bianco, Manzoni Moscato, Marzemino, Merlot, Molinara, Pinot Nero (Pinot Noir), Raboso Piave or Friularo, Raboso Veronese, Recantina, Refosco dal Peduncolo Rosso, Rondinella, Rosetta (Rossignola), Sangiovese, Schiava Grossa, Schiava Gentile, Schiava Grigia, Tai Rosso (Garnacha Tinta) and Turchetta.

The most important white wine varieties are Bianchetta (Bianchetta Trevigiana), Chardonnay, Cortese or Bianca Fernanda, Durella, Friulano/Tai/Tuchì resp. Sauvignonasse (formerly Tocai Friulano), Garganega, Glera or Serprina (formerly Prosecco Tondo), Glera Lunga (formerly Prosecco Lunga), Malvasia Istriana (Malvazija Istarska), Manzoni Bianco, Manzoni Rosa, Marzemina Bianca, Moscato or Moscato Bianco (Muscat Blanc), Moscato Giallo (Gold Muscat), Moscato Fior d'Arancio (Muscat Fleur d'Oranger), Müller-Thurgau, Nosiola, Perera, Pinello (Pinella), Pinot Bianco (Pinot Blanc), Pinot Grigio (Pinot Gris), Raboso Piave, Raboso Veronese, Riesling Italico (Welschriesling), Riesling Renano (Riesling), Sauvignon (Sauvignon Blanc), Trebbiano di Soave or Boschera (Verdicchio Bianco), Trebbiano Toscano, Verdiso, Verduzzo Friulano, Verduzzo Trevigiano and Vespaiola. The IGT (country wines), DOC and DOCG (quality wines) areas are

Picture: by daniFAB on Pixabay

In this section you will find
currently 165,636 Wines and 25,036 Producers, including 3,179 classified producers.
Rating system find+buy Tasting samples Editorial schedule