You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.


Description to Nierstein

The municipality of Nierstein-Schwabsburg with a population of around 8,400 is located on the Rhine in the federal state of Rhineland-Palatinate. The Schwabsburg district was an independent municipality until 1970. One of the three winegrowing areas in the Rheinhessen wine growing region was also named after Nierstein, the other two are Bingen and Wonnegau. The Nierstein area in the north-east reaches back to the Roman city of Mainz, founded in 38 BC. The centre is the Rhine front from Nackenheim to Schwabsburg. Here, on the famous Red Slope, the most impressive and best steep slopes of Rheinhessen with the red slate soils(Rotliegendes) that give the area its name. The area is divided into 11 major sites: Auflangen, Domherr, Gutes Domtal, Güldenmorgen, Krötenbrunnen, Petersberg, Rehbach, Rheinblick, Sankt Alban, Spiegelberg and Vogelsgärten.

Gemeinde Nierstein (Rheinhessen) in südlicher Richtung

Nierstein is also an important winegrowing community. The parish area includes the individual sites Bergkirche, Bildstock, Brückchen, Brudersberg, Ebersberg, Findling, Glöck, Goldene Luft, Heiligenbaum, Hipping, Hölle, Kirchplatte, Klostergarten, Kranzberg, Ölberg, Orbel, Paterberg, Pettenthal, Pfaffenkappe, Rosenberg, Schloss Hohenrechen, Schloss Schwabsburg and Zehnmorgen. Well known producers are Bacchushof, Bunn Lisa, Domhof Baumann, Domtalhof, Gehring Theo, Heyl zu Herrnsheim, Huff Fritz Ekkehard, Louis Guntrum, Raddeck Stefan, Schätzel Kai, Schneider Georg Albrecht, Seebrich, St. Antony and Strub Walter.

Classified producers: 27
Wines tasted: 3789
In this section you will find
currently 144,065 Wines and 22,861 Producers, including 2,403 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples