You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Unfortunately there is no information about Reggiano DOC available.
Reggiano DOC

Description to Reggiano DOC

DOC area for red wines, rosé wines and white wines made from Lambrusco varieties in the Italian region of Emilia-Romagna. The zone includes the municipalities of Albinea, Bagnolo in Piano, Baiso, Bibbiano, Boretto, Brescello, Cadelbosco di Sopra, Campagnola Emilia, Campegine, Canossa, Carpineti, Casalgrande, Castellarano, Castelnovo di Sotto, Cavriago, Correggio, Fabbrico, Gattatico, Gualtieri, Guastalla, Montecchio Emilia, Novellara, Poviglio, Reggio Emilia, Reggiolo, Quattro Castella, Rio Saliceto, Rolo, Rubiera, San Martino in Rio, San Polo d'Enza, Sant'Ilario d'Enza, Scandiano, Vezzano sul Crostolo and Viano in the province of Reggio Emilia. The types of wine are produced differently in each municipality. They are matured (except Novello) in secco, abboccato, amabile and dolce.

Reggiano Lambrusco (also known as Novello, Frizzante and Spumante) in all municipalities. It is produced in any mixture of Lambrusco Barghi, Lambrusco di Sorbara, Lambrusco Grasparossa, Lambrusco Maestri, Lambrusco Marani, Lambrusco Montericco, Lambrusco Oliva, Lambrusco Salamino and Lambrusco Viadanese (to 85%), as well as in any mixture or use of Ancellotta, Malbo Gentile and Lambrusco a Foglia Frastagliata = Enantio (max. 15%).

Reggiano Lambrusco Salamino (also known as Frizzante) in 11 municipalities It is produced from Lambrusco Salamino (85%), as well as in any mixture or use of Ancellotta, Lambrusco Marani, Lambrusco di Sorbara and Malbo Gentile (max.15%)

Reggiano Rosso (also known as Novello and Frizzante) and Rosato in 23 municipalities These are produced from Ancellotta (30-60%), as well as in any mixture or use of all Lambrusco varieties, Malbo Gentile, Sangiovese, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Marzemino and Fogarina (the difference)

Reggiano Spumante Bianco in 15 municipalities. It is produced from white wines in any mixture or use of Lambrusco Marani, Lambrusco Salamino, Lambrusco Montericco, Lambrusco Maestri, Lambrusco di Sorbara and Malbo Gentile.
In this section you will find
currently 154,847 Wines and 24,128 Producers, including 2,472 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Tasting samples Editorial schedule