You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Unfortunately there is no information about Vaucluse available.

Description to Vaucluse

Department in the southeast of France in the political region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur. It was named after the town of the same name, Vaucluse (today Fontaine-de-Vaucluse) and lies in the middle of the départements of Gard (west), Ardèche (northwest), Drôme (northeast), Alpes de Haute-Provence (east), Var (southeast) and Bouches-du-Rhône (south). The western border is formed by the Rhone. At the beginning of the fourteenth century, due to power struggles in Rome, the capital Avignon became the seat of the popes for seventy years and thus the capital of Christianity. In terms of wine law, Vaucluse is divided between the two regions of Provence and Rhône. The vineyards cover around 50,000 hectares of vines. The AOC areas are:

Gemeindeappellation Côtes du Rhône-Villages Sablet

The country wine or IGP area encompassing the entire département is called Vaucluse. This can be supplemented by the narrower, geographical designations of Aigues and Principauté d'Orange. Vaucluse is also part of the large regional IGP area Méditerranée. It produces 75% red, 15% rosé and 10% white wines. The most important red wine varieties are Grenache Noir (Garnacha Tinta), Cinsaut, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Carignan Noir (Mazuelo). The most important white wine varieties are Grenache Blanc (Garnacha Blanca), Bourboulenc, Rolle (Vermentino), Ugni Blanc (Trebbiano Toscano) and Chardonnay.

In this section you will find
currently 145,432 Wines and 22,930 Producers, including 2,433 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples