You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Description to Trentino

The southern area of the Italian double region of Trentino-South Tyrol; the northern is South Tyrol (Alto Adige). It corresponds geographically to the province of Trento. It is one of the oldest Italian wine-growing areas, with archaeological finds dating back 3,000 years. The vineyards cover around 10,000 hectares on the edge of the Dolomites. They are located in the gravelly alluvial plain of the Adige valley and on the sometimes very steep slopes of the side valleys. Some communities on Lago di Caldaro fall into the DOC area of the same name (Kalterersee). At higher altitudes, moraine debris with a high lime content predominates. The climate is warmer and drier than in South Tyrol. In the south, the positive influence of Lake Garda is noticeable, providing a mild climate. 75% red and rosé wines and 25% white wines are produced. More than two thirds of the production are DOC wines. The grape variety list is headed by the DOC area Trentino.

Trentino - Gemeinde Kaltern mit Mendelpass

Trentino is one of the leading spumante producers in Italy. Quality is monitored by the "Trentdoc" group of 40 wineries. The "Consorzio I Dolomitici" strives for quality standards. Three large winegrowers' cooperatives are Cavit, Mezzacorona and the Cantina Sociale di Lavis. The IGT (country wines) and DOC and DOCG (quality wines) areas

Image: By Plentn - Own work, CC0, Link

In this section you will find
currently 166,053 Wines and 25,046 Producers, including 3,208 classified producers.
Rating system find+buy Tasting samples Editorial schedule