You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Unfortunately there is no information about Orleanais AOVDQS available.
Orleanais AOVDQS

Description to Orleanais AOVDQS

The name is derived from the historical province of France named after the capital city of Orleans. In the Middle Ages this was an important wine-growing region. It was part of the French royal domain, so the French royal family and the city of Paris supplied themselves with wine from there. Wine transport to the capital was favoured by the short distance (130 km) and a continuous paved road. According to legend, King Henri IV (1553-1610) appreciated Orléanais wines in abundance. However, under Louis XIII (1601-1643), the Orleans wine was gradually abandoned. After the French Revolution, the province was dissolved and divided into the Loiret, Loir-et-Cher, and partly Eure-et-Loir and Yonne departments. The former VDQS Orléanais (also Vins de l'Orléanais) was divided into two areas in 2002, which were then classified as AOC in 2006. These are Orléans and Orléans-Cléry.
In this section you will find
currently 150,931 Wines and 23,429 Producers, including 2,233 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Tasting samples