You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Molise DOC

Description to Molise DOC

DOC area (also Molise) for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Italian region of Molise The zone comprises a total of 82 municipalities in the provinces of Campobasso and Isernia. The wines must be of pure variety and contain at least 85% of the respective grape variety. These are the white wines Chardonnay, Falanghina, Fiano, Greco Bianco, Malvasia (?), Moscato Bianco = Muscat Blanc, Pinot Bianco = Pinot Blanc, Pinot Grigio = Pinot Gris, Sauvignon = Sauvignon Blanc and Trebbiano = Trebbiano d'Abruzzo, as well as the red wines Aglianico (also as Riserva), Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot (also as Novello and Frizzante), Pinot Nero = Pinot Noir and Sangiovese

Rosso (also called Riserva) and Rosato must contain 85% Montepulciano. The Bianco Spumante di Qualità, Rosso Spumante di Qualità and Rosato Spumante di Qualità produced by bottle fermentation are blended in any combination of Chardonnay, Pinot Bianco, Pinot Grigio, Moscato, Falanghina, Fiano, Malvasia and Montepulciano (at 50%), as well as other authorised varieties (max. 50%). A single-variety Spumante di Qualità is also available from all white wines. A single variety Passito is produced from Falanghina and Moscato Bianco.
In this section you will find
currently 144,826 Wines and 22,894 Producers, including 2,432 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples