Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Unfortunately there is no information about Irpinia DOC available.
Irpinia DOC

Description to Irpinia DOC

DOC area for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Italian region of Campania. The zone includes the province of Avellino. The Campi Taurasini subzone covers the municipalities of Taurasi, Bonito, Castelfranci, Castelvetere sul Calore, Fontanarosa, Lapio, Luogosano, Mirabella Eclano, Montefalcione, Montemarano, Montemiletto, Paternopoli, Pietradefusi, Sant'Angelo all'Esca, San Mango sul Calore, Torre le Nocelle, Venticano, Gesualdo, Villamaina, Torella dei Lombardi, Grottaminarda, Melito Irpino, Nusco and Chiusano di San Domenico If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna can be indicated followed by the name of the vineyard

The Bianco is blended from Greco (40-50%), Fiano (40-50%) and other authorised varieties (max. 20%). Rosso (also known as Novello) and Rosato are produced from Aglianico (70%) and other authorised varieties (max. 30%). The pure variety wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety. These are the white wines Coda di Volpe(Coda di Volpe Bianca), Falanghina, Fiano and Greco, and the red wines Aglianico or Campi Taurasi Aglianico, Piedirosso and Sciascinoso. Of many of these types of wine there is also a Liquoroso and a Passito. A Spumante is available from the white wines Falanghina, Fiano and Greco.


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.