You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Unfortunately there is no information about Freiburg/Fribourg available.

Description to Freiburg/Fribourg

Canton with the capital of the same name in the central west of Switzerland, geographically part of western Switzerland. The terraced vineyards cover 150 hectares on the slopes of Mont Vully, which slopes steeply down to Lake Murten (Lac de Môrat). In terms of wine law, they belong to the wine region Drei-Seen-Land. The Vully appellation is special because it extends over the two cantons of Fribourg (107 ha) and Vaud (50 ha). However, the winegrowers of Vully see themselves as a common area, even though there is a cantonal border with different regulations in between. An AOC statute was adopted in 1997, and the main wine-growing communes are Môtier, Praz and Sugiez. The wines are mainly made from Chasselas (white) and Pinot Noir (red). Other varieties are Pinot Gris (Pinot Gris), Traminer and Freisamer (called Fribourg here).

In this section you will find
currently 162,178 Wines and 24,807 Producers, including 2,948 classified producers.
Rating system Find+Buy Tasting samples Editorial schedule