You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Description to Epirus / Ήπειρος

The historic landscape was a Greek royal house in its own right in ancient times and became a Roman province from 148 BC. Dodona, the most important ancient Greek oracle site after Delphi, is located here. Today, the area belongs to Greece and partly to Albania. Today, however, only the southern Greek part is called Epirus. The smallest, least populated and roughest Greek region extends in western Greece along the coast of the Ionian Sea in the south to the Ceraunian Mountains in the north. The highest elevation is Mount Smolikas at 2,637 metres. Only one fifth of Epirus is not mountainous and the soil is very calcareous. To the west, the mountains slope down to the coast of the Ionian Sea. The two wine-growing areas are Zitsa, which lies to the west of the capital Ioannina and is classified as POP, and Metsovo, which is unclassified and lies to the east of the capital. Close to the coast are the Ionian Islands.

Griechenland - Landkarte

Map of Greece: By Pitichinaccio - own work, CC BY 3.0, Link
edited by Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer 2/2018

In this section you will find
currently 161,943 Wines and 24,803 Producers, including 2,923 classified producers.
Rating system Find+Buy Tasting samples Editorial schedule