You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Eisacktal / Val d'Isarco DOC

Description to Eisacktal / Val d'Isarco DOC

Subzone (also Valle Isarco) for white wines and red wines in the Alto Adige DOC area in the Italian wine-growing region of South Tyrol (in the dual region of Trentino-South Ty rol). The zone includes vineyards at up to 800 metres above sea level on both sides of the Eisack (Isarco) river northeast of Bolzano (Bozen) in Barbian (Barbiano), Bressanone (Brixen), Feldthurns (Velturno), Kastelruth (Castelrotto), Klausen (Chiusa), Lajen (Laion), Natz-Schabs (Naz-Sciaves), Ritten (Renon), Vahrn (Varna), Vilander (Villandro), Villnöss (Funes) and Völs am Schlern (Fiè allo Sciliar). If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna plus the name of the vineyard may be indicated.

The wines are produced from up to 85% of the respective variety and max. 15% of other permitted varieties. These are the white wines Kerner, Müller-Thurgau, Pinot Grigio (Pinot Gris), Riesling,Sylvaner (Silvaner), Traminer Aromatico (Gewürztraminer) and Veltliner (Grüner Veltliner). There is also a Passito, a Vendemmia tardiva (late harvest) and a Riserva (except Müller-Thurgau) of all of them. The red wine Klausner Laitacher is blended from Vernatsch varieties (Schiava) and/or Porthoghese (Blauer Portugieser) and/or Pinot Nero (Pinot Noir).

In this section you will find
currently 147,125 Wines and 23,233 Producers, including 2,225 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Tasting samples