You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Unfortunately there is no information about D.O. Navarra available.
D.O. Navarra

Description to D.O. Navarra

The region (Nafarroa in Basque) with the capital Pamplona is located in the north of Spain. It covers 10,385 km² and is the part of the historic kingdom of Navarre south of the Pyrenees. In the north, the main ridge of the Pyrenees forms the border with France. It borders the Basque Country to the west, Rioja to the south and Aragon to the east.


In 905, King Sancho I founded a separate kingdom of Navarre (Nafarroa in Basque) with Pamplona as its capital. In its heyday under Sancho III (990-1035), it stretched from Barcelona to Bordeaux on both sides of the Pyrenees. The first inhabitants were the Basques, whose influences can still be felt today. The Count of Champagne Thibaut I inherited the kingdom in 1234, after which it was administered by several French ruling lines. In 1512, the greater part of Upper Navarre south of the Pyrenees was annexed by Ferdinand II of Aragon and thus became Spanish. The son of Joan, Queen of Navarre, ascended the French throne as King Henry IV (1553-1610) in 1589 and incorporated the northern part into the Kingdom of France in 1607. The area has a very old wine-growing tradition. An ancient Roman cellar with a capacity of around 75,000 litres was found near the village of Funes.

Phylloxera disaster

In the 11th century, the famous pilgrimage route "Camino de Santiago" (to Santiago de Compostela in Galicia) ran through Pamplona. Along the road, pilgrims enjoyed wines from the adjoining Rioja and Navarre to the west, and as a result a lively export of Spanish wines developed as far as Normandy. Navarre was already famous for its rosé wines (rosados) in the 15th century. After the discovery of America in 1492, the region experienced a great wine boom. Ships to the New World were loaded with wine from Navarre. At the end of the 19th century, phylloxera destroyed almost 100% of the then 50,000 hectares and they were completely replanted. In 1911, one of the first Spanish winegrowers' cooperatives was founded in Navarre. The EVENA research institute played a major role in the upswing.


The vineyards cover 17,000 hectares of vines, with the DO area of Navarra being close by. Geographically, the area is divided into the five sub-areas Tierra Estelba and Valdizarbe in the north, Baja Montaña and Ribera Alta north of the Ebro in the centre and Ribera Baja in the south. 60% of the wines produced are red and 30% rosé. A speciality is the DO-clasified sloe liqueur Pacharán. Important red wine varieties are Garnacha Tinta (40%), Tempranillo, Cabernet Sauvignon, Graciano, Mazuela (Mazuelo), Pinot Noir and Merlot. Important white wine varieties are Viura (Macabeo), Garnacha Blanca, Malvasía (Planta Nova), Chardonnay and Moscatel Menudo (Muscat Blanc). There are two DO areas and three Vino de Pago areas (quality wines), as well as two IGP areas (country wines). Cava (sparkling wine) may also be produced.

In this section you will find
currently 166,711 Wines and 25,078 Producers, including 3,233 classified producers.
Rating system find+buy Tasting samples Editorial schedule