Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Côtes du Roussillon AOC

Description to Côtes du Roussillon AOC

By far the largest appellation in the Roussillon wine-growing region, which covers the entire department of Pyrénées-Orientales. The vineyards cover 8,800 hectares of vines in 125 communes. Red wine and rosé must be blended from at least two main varieties and one secondary variety: Carignan Noir(Mazuelo) with a maximum of 60%, Grenache Noir(Garnacha Tinta), Lladoner Pelut(Garnacha Peluda) and Cinsaut. The secondary varieties Syrah, Mourvèdre and Macabeo must not exceed 20%. The white wine is composed of Macabeo, Grenache Blanc(Garnacha Blanca), Marsanne, Roussanne, Rolle(Vermentino) and Malvoisie de Roussillon(Torbato)

Côtes du Roussillon - Rebflächen bei Lansac

In the north is the higher classified area Côtes du Roussillon-Villages with 25 communes. Of these, the three communes are CaramanyLatour-de-France, Lesquerde and Tautavel are classified as cru and may use the name. The appellation is reserved exclusively for red wines; rose and white wines must be declared as Côtes du Roussillon. The blend of grape varieties is similar; only 15% Syrah and Mourvèdre are required. Well known producers are CV de Baixas, Château de Canterrane, Château La Casenove, Château de Jau, CV Catalans, Domaine Cazes Frères, Domaine des Chênes, Domaine Força Réal, Domaine Gardiés, Domaine Gauby, Domaine du Mas Camo, Domaine Mas Crémat, Domaine Matassa, Domaine Piquemal, Domaine de la Rectorie. Domaine Sarda-Malet, Domaine des Schistes and Les Maitres Vignerons de Tautavel.

Picture: By Babsy - Own work, in the public domain, link