Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Comtés Rhodaniens

Description to Comtés Rhodaniens

One of the six major regional IGP areas for the production of local wines in France. The other five are Atlantique, Comté Tolosan, Méditerranée, Pays d'Oc and Val de Loire. The ethymological meaning of "Rhodania" is possibly of Celtic origin; according to one of the many interpretations it means "on the banks of the Rhône". It is situated in the south-east and comprises the nine départements of Ain, Ardèche, Drôme, Haute-Savoie, Isère, Loire, Rhône, Saône-et-Loire and Savoie. At least some of the wine growing areas belong to the three wine regions Loire, Rhône and Savoie. The main red wine varieties are Grenache Noir(Garnacha Tinta), Syrah, Mourvèdre(Monastrell), Carignan Noir(Mazuelo), Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc. The main white wine varieties are Chardonnay, Viognier, Grenache Blanc(Garnacha Blanca), Altesse and Muscat Blanc.

Rebflächen im Département Ardèche - IGP Comtés Rhodaniens
From Ed Clayton - flickr, CC BY 2.0, Link


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.