You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Unfortunately there is no information about Colli Orientali del Friuli DOC available.
Colli Orientali del Friuli DOC

Description to Colli Orientali del Friuli DOC

DOC area (also Friuli Colli Orientali) for red and white wines in the Friuli Venezia Giulia region; close to the border with Slovenia and Austria. The name means "eastern hills of Friuli". To the south is the Collio Goriziano DOC area in the province of Gorizia (Görz), with the river Judrio forming the border. Both geologically similar areas once belonged to the Austrian Habsburg Empire. However, while Udine became Italian as early as 1866, Gorizia only became part of Italy after the First World War in the early 1920s. The zone comprises the hilly area in the eastern part of the province of Udine with 14 municipalities grouped in a crescent around the city of Udine. These are Attimis, Buttrio, Faedis, Cividale, Corno di Rosazzo, Manzano, Nimis, Povoletto, Prepotto, Premariacco, San Pietro al Natisone, San Giovanni al Natisone, Tarcento and Torreano.

It stretches in the form of a long chain of hills on the edge of the Udine plain from Buttrio in the south to Tarcento in the north. The largely terraced vineyards cover around 2,100 hectares of vineyards on calcareous marl and sandstone soils at an altitude of 100 to 350 metres above sea level. They are protected from the cold northern winds by the Julian Prealps, while the mild air from the Mediterranean creates a very favourable microclimate for viticulture.

Colli Orientali del Froiuli - Weingut Torre Rosazza

The large area is divided into five subzones with three DOCG areas. The Cialla subzone covers an area north of the municipality of Prepotto. The two subzones Ribolla Gialla di Rosazzo and Pignolo di Rosazzo include parts of the municipalities of Corno di Rosazzo, Manzano and San Giovanni al Natisone in the province of Udine with the Rosazzo DOCG area. The Schioppettino di Prepotto subzone includes part of the municipality of Prepotto. The Refosco di Faedis subzone includes parts of the municipalities of Attimis, Faedis, Nimis, Povoletto, Tarcento and Torreano with the DOCG areas of Ramandolo and Colli Orientali del Friuli Picolit.

The single-varietal wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety, 15% can be other authorised varieties. The white wines are Chardonnay, Malvasia (Malvasia Istriana = Malvazija Istarska), Pinot Bianco (Pinot Blanc), Pinot Grigio (Pinot Gris), Ribolla Gialla, Riesling Renano (Riesling), Sauvignon (Sauvignon Blanc), Friulano - formerly Tocai Friulano (Sauvignonasse), Traminer Aromatico (Gewürztraminer) and Verduzzo Friulano.

The red wines are Cabernet (Cabernet Franc and/or Cabernet Sauvignon and/or Carmenère), Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pignolo, Pinot Nero (Pinot Noir), Refosco dal Peduncolo Rosso, Schioppettino and Tazzelenghe. The Bianco, Dolce and Rosso wine types can be produced using any of the authorised grape varieties (with the exception of Traminer Aromatico for the Bianco).

The subzones can be indicated on the label after the DOC name for certain types of wine. For the subzones Ribolla Gialla di Rosazzo, Pignolo di Rosazzo, Schioppettino di Prepotto and Refosco di Faedis (Refosco Nostrano = Refosco di Faedis), there is only one wine with the grape variety ja in its name. In the Cialla subzone, on the other hand, there are the wine types Bianco, Ribolla Gialla, Verduzzo Friulano, Rosso, Refosco dal Peduncolo Rosso and Schioppettino. For wines with at least 24 months of ageing, the designation Riserva may be used. For the wines of the Cialla subzone this is at least 50 months, for the Schioppettino di Preppoto subzone 46 months and for the Refosco di Faedis wine type or subzone 38 months.

Picture: © Torre Rosazza

In this section you will find
currently 166,880 Wines and 25,084 Producers, including 3,267 classified producers.
Rating system find+buy Tasting samples Editorial schedule