You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Description to Apulia

The region Apulia (ital. Puglia) with the capital Bari is located deep in the south of Italy on the Adriatic coast. The elongated region consists of the spur (the Gargano mountains) and the heel (the Salento peninsula) of the boot. The name goes back to the Apuli; a tribe of the Osker. The area is one of the oldest wine-growing regions in the world, as the Phoenicians and Greeks planted vines here 3,000 years ago. The Romans particularly appreciated the wine from Tarentum (port city of Taranto) and the poet Horace (65-8 B.C.) described the area as a place of "eternal spring". The Staufer Emperor Frederick II (1194-1250) was King of Sicily from 1198 and stayed in Italy for 28 years. Near Bari, he had the Castel del Monte built, with an octagonal main building around which eight towers, also octagonal, are grouped.

Apulien - Castel del Monte

In contrast to the other southern regions of Italy, there are hardly any mountains, but the landscape consists of plateaus and lowlands. There is a dry-hot climate with low rainfall, so that partly even artificial irrigation is necessary. The soils consist mainly of limestone, loam and sandstone. There are many autochthonous grape varieties. The red wine varieties cover about 75% of the area, the most important are Aglianico, Aleatico, Barbera, Bonifacienco (also Carenisca or Caricagiola = Parraleta), Bombino Nero, Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon, Lambrusco Maestri, Malbech(Cot), Malvasia Nera di Lecce od. Malvasia Nera di Brindisi, Merlot, Montepulciano, Notardomenico, Ottavianello(Cinsaut), Pinot Nero(Pinot Noir), Primitivo(Tribidrag), Sangiovese, Susumaniello and Uva di Troia(Nero di Troia).

The main white wine varieties are Bianco d'Alessano, Bombino Bianco, Chardonnay, Falanghina Beneventana, Falanghina Flegrea(Falanghina), Fiano, Francavidda, Greco di Tufo(Greco), Impigno, Malvasia Bianca di Candia, Malvasia Bianca od. Malvasia Toscana or Malvasia Bianca Lunga, Minutolo, Moscato or Moscato Bianco or Moscato di Trani(Muscat Blanc), Pampanuto, Pinot Bianco(Pinot Blanc), Pinot Grigio(Pinot Gris), Sauvignon(Sauvignon Blanc) and Verdeca

The vineyards cover 88,000 hectares of vineyard area. Most of Italy's wine is produced in Puglia. This is why the region is called the "Wine Cellar of Italy or Europe". Together with Sicily it is at the top of the Italian wine production volume. The best qualities grow, climatically favoured by the proximity of the Adriatic and Ionian Seas, on the Habsburg island of Salento. However, the quality wines make up only less than 10% of the quantity. A large part of the wines is used for the distillation of industrial alcohol and for the production of simple mass wines. The six IGT areas (IGP) are Daunia, Murgia, Puglia, Salento, Tarantino and Valle d'Itria. The 28 DOC/DOCG zones:

Classified producers: 6
Wines tasted: 529
In this section you will find
currently 143,997 Wines and 22,859 Producers, including 2,396 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Wine Samples