You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Comprehensive description of all European growing areas, their grape varieties, traditions and legal rules with maps.

Unfortunately there is no information about Aglianico del Vulture DOC available.
Aglianico del Vulture DOC

Description to Aglianico del Vulture DOC

DOC area for red wine in the Italian region of Basilicata. The zone includes the municipalities of Aderenza, Banzi, Barile, Forenza, Genzano di Lucania, Ginestra, Lavello, Maschito, Melfi, Palazzo San Gervasio, Rapolla, Rionero in Vulture, Ripacandida and Venosa in the province of Potenza. The vineyards cover about 1,500 hectares of vines and are situated up to almost 700 metres above sea level on the slopes of the eponymous extinct volcano Monte Vulture, which has shaped the area with its special soil type, which is perfectly suited for viticulture. It is fragmented into around 1,000 small estates. Since ancient times, wine has been produced here, which was already popular at the tables of the nobility in the Middle Ages.

If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna can be indicated followed by the name of the vineyard. The following designations are possible: Accovatura, Acqua Rossa, Boreano, Braida, Caggiano, Caldara, Cappa Bianca, Carcarola, Casano, Castagno, Catavatto, Celentino, Cerentino, Ciaulino, Colignelli, Colle Nero, Colonnello, Cugno di Atella, Finocchiaro, Fiumarella, Fontana Maruggia, Gaudo, Gelosia, Giardino, Gorizza, Iatta, Incoronata, La Balconara, La Solagna del Principe, La Torre, Le Querce, Macarico, Macchiarulo, Monte, Monte Lapis, Musanna, Notarchirico, Padula, Pantagniuolo, Pescarelle, Piani dell'Incoronata, Piani di Camera, Piano del Cerro, Piano del Duca, Piano dell'Altare, Piano di Carro, Piano di Croce, Piano Regio, Pipoli, Rotondo, San Francesco, San Martino, San Paolo, San Savino, Sansaniello, Santa Maria, Serra del Capitolo, Serra del Monaco, Serra del Prete, Serra del Tesoro, Serra del Trono, Serra della Noce, Serra Macinella, Serro di Granato, Settanni, Sterpara, Valla del Titolo, Vallone della Noce, Vigne di Perrone and Vizzarro

The garnet red wine is also called "Barolo of the South" because of its similar taste. It is made from 100% Aglianico grapes (the DOC regulations state that Aglianico del Vulture is the second permitted variety, but it is identical or a variety). There is also a spumante produced by bottle fermentation. The more alcoholic variety with at least 13.5% vol (compared to 12.5%) alcohol content Aglianico del Vulture Superiore was classified as DOCG in 2011. The Aglianico del Vulture Superiore Riserva variety, which also has an alcohol content of 13.5%, requires ageing for at least five years, at least two years in wooden barrels and one year in bottles. The above-mentioned geographical designations can of course also be used.

In this section you will find
currently 146,348 Wines and 23,087 Producers, including 2,396 classified producers.
Rating system Their sources in Wine Guide Tasting samples